Georgia offers statewide assistance through Georgia Dream, Peach Plus and Peach Advantage, with separate local options such as ATL HomeNOW and Atlanta Housing DPA. These are alternatives with different loan, income, location and repayment rules. Confirm your combination with a participating lender before setting a funding target.
Guide reviewed on October 20, 2026. Individual source dates appear below. Programs, limits and funding change, so confirm with the agency and a participating lender before you rely on a figure.
What is down payment assistance?
Down payment assistance (DPA) is money or financing from a housing agency, nonprofit, lender or employer that may help with your down payment or closing costs. Each program sets its own rules. A low-down-payment mortgage is a loan option, not itself an assistance award.
Types of down payment assistance
Grants
Assistance that may not require repayment when you satisfy the program terms. Read any recapture conditions.
Forgivable loans
A second loan whose balance may be forgiven over a required period of homeownership. Selling or moving early can trigger repayment.
Deferred-payment loans
A loan with payments postponed, often until you sell, refinance, move out or reach maturity. Deferred does not mean forgiven.
Repayable loans
Assistance repaid over time. Check the interest rate, monthly payment and effect on your mortgage qualification.
Selected for statewide reach, distinct assistance options and local coverage. This is an editorial shortlist, not a ranking of the best program for you. Alternatives and add-ons are identified below. Verify current funding before applying.
What it offers: Standard assistance is the lesser of 5% of the purchase price or $10,000. PEN and Choice options provide the lesser of 6% or $12,500.
Repayment: The Georgia Dream FAQ describes a 0% second loan with no monthly payment, due on sale, refinance or when the home stops being your primary residence.
Works with: A participating Georgia Dream lender and eligible first mortgage.
Who qualifies: First-time buyers, buyers without primary-home ownership in the past three years, or eligible targeted-area buyers. Income, price, asset, credit and education rules apply.
Availability: The program is listed by its administrator. Confirm current funding, reservation availability and lender participation before relying on assistance.
What it offers: Standard assistance is the lesser of 3.5% of purchase price or $10,000. PEN and Choice options provide the lesser of 4% or $12,500.
Repayment: The product page does not state the full second-loan repayment terms. Obtain the note and repayment conditions from your lender.
Works with: A 30-year fixed FHA or VA mortgage through a participating lender.
Who qualifies: First-time and repeat buyers may apply. Area-specific income and purchase-price limits, liquid-asset rules and mortgage underwriting apply.
Availability: The program is listed by its administrator. Confirm current funding, reservation availability and lender participation before relying on assistance.
What it offers: Assistance options range from 2% to 5% of the first mortgage amount.
Repayment: The product page does not state repayment or forgiveness terms. Ask the lender to explain the selected assistance option.
Works with: An eligible 30-year fixed conventional mortgage through a participating lender.
Who qualifies: Household income up to 150% of area median income, location-specific purchase-price limits and mortgage credit requirements.
Availability: The program is listed by its administrator. Confirm current funding, reservation availability and lender participation before relying on assistance.
What it offers: Up to $20,000 toward down payment, closing costs or permanent interest-rate reduction.
Repayment: Forgiven after ten years of living in the home as the primary residence. Review the loan documents for earlier repayment triggers.
Works with: An Invest Atlanta participating lender and eligible 30-year FHA, VA or conventional first mortgage.
Who qualifies: Atlanta city limits; minimum 620 credit score, $1,500 own-funds contribution, asset and income limits, education and mandatory Q&A. Maximum first loan $325,000.
Availability: The program is listed by its administrator. Confirm current funding, reservation availability and lender participation before relying on assistance.
What it offers: Up to $20,000; listed public-service, military, veteran and voucher categories may receive up to $25,000.
Repayment: The public program page does not state repayment terms. Confirm the assistance agreement with Atlanta Housing.
Works with: An approved lender and eligible fixed-rate conventional, FHA or VA first mortgage.
Who qualifies: First-time buyer, Atlanta property, income no more than 80% AMI, purchase price up to $375,000, $1,500 own contribution, residency, asset and education requirements.
Availability: The program is listed by its administrator. Confirm current funding, reservation availability and lender participation before relying on assistance.
Compare geographic coverage in selected locations among the five programs featured on this page. This is not an exhaustive statewide ranking. Counts include conditional options, alternatives and add-ons, not five awards you can necessarily combine. Address boundaries, individual eligibility and available funding still apply.
Method: count each distinct referenced program once per location, then sort by count and alphabetically for ties. Coverage describes this guide only and does not establish live funding.
Could I be eligible for DPA in Georgia?
Start with your planned location and the specific program. Common factors include:
Household income and size, with limits that may vary by county.
First-time buyer or first-generation status, where required.
Purchase price, property type and use as your primary residence.
Credit, debt-to-income ratio and eligibility for the required first mortgage.
Any occupation, residency or targeted-area conditions.
Your Dream Score can help you explore potential matches. The administrator and lender determine eligibility and approval.
How do I apply for down payment assistance in Georgia?
Contact a Georgia Dream participating lender to review statewide alternatives. You do not apply directly to DCA for the mortgage.
Complete required homebuyer education and gather income, asset and ownership-history documents.
For Atlanta local assistance, follow Invest Atlanta or Atlanta Housing education, lender and property-location requirements.
Ask your lender to confirm funding and approve the assistance and eligible gift combination before you count it toward closing.
Bring your funding sources together.
DPA, savings and eligible gifts through your future Dream Fund can be parts of one homebuying plan.
Estimate your down payment and closing costs, then review your lender's cash-to-close figure.
Confirm which assistance programs work with your mortgage and with each other. Some options are alternatives, not cumulative awards.
Subtract confirmed, usable savings and approved assistance to understand the remaining gap. Keep potential awards separate.
Plan a Dream Fund campaign target for the gap. A pledge or fundraising estimate is not money available to close.
Before relying on gifts, ask your lender about acceptable donors, no-repayment gift letters, transfer evidence and any minimum own-funds contribution.
Your lender and program must approve the combination. A campaign record alone does not establish that a gift is acceptable for your mortgage. Gifts must be genuine and must not be disguised loans.
Home funds are not open yet. You can get your Dream Score now and join the campaign waitlist.
Can I combine Georgia assistance with gift funds or employer help?
Gift funds
Georgia Dream FAQs allow documented gift funds toward the $1,000 contribution requirement and count substantial gifts toward liquid assets. Confirm donor eligibility, documents and the selected program's asset rules before receiving campaign gifts.
Employer help
Ask the lender whether an employer benefit is allowed. An employer benefit is separate from a Dream Fund campaign.
Other assistance
Peach Plus cannot be received simultaneously with another Georgia Dream program. Its FAQ permits outside assistance, with subordinate financing preapproved by the Georgia Dream compliance manager except employer assistance. Atlanta Housing requires its approval and the primary lender's approval when combining DPA.
Georgia Dream generally requires first-time status or no primary-home ownership for three years, with targeted-area exceptions. Peach Plus accepts repeat buyers. Confirm the rules of your chosen program.
Is Georgia down payment assistance always a grant?
No. Georgia Dream describes a repayable second loan. ATL HomeNOW has ten-year occupancy conditions for forgiveness. Read the repayment terms before accepting assistance.
Can I combine assistance with a Dream Fund campaign?
Potentially, after your lender and program approve the gifts, documentation and combination. Georgia Dream also has asset rules, and Peach Plus cannot be combined with another Georgia Dream program.
Disclosure: This content is for informational purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, mortgage, or tax advice. Program rules vary by lender, location and loan. Dreamfund is not affiliated with any housing agency named here. Consult a licensed mortgage professional for guidance specific to your situation. Dream Fund AI LLC does not guarantee any savings outcome, loan approval, or home purchase result.