Skip to main content

Home › Learn › Down payment assistance › California

Down Payment Assistance in California: Programs, Limits and How to Apply

In California, the California Housing Finance Agency (CalHFA) offers MyHome, a deferred-payment junior loan of up to the lesser of 3.5% of the purchase price or appraised value on an FHA first mortgage, or 3% on a conventional first mortgage. CalHFA is not a direct lender, so you apply through a CalHFA-approved loan officer.

Facts read from the agency pages on October 15, 2026. Programs, limits and funding change, so confirm with the agency and a participating lender before you rely on a figure.

Who runs down payment assistance in California?

Which California programs offer down payment help?

MyHome Assistance Program

Administered by CalHFA.

  • What it offers: A deferred-payment junior loan for down payment and closing costs, up to the lesser of 3.5% of the purchase price or appraised value on an FHA first mortgage, or the lesser of 3% of those amounts on a conventional first mortgage.
  • Repayment: Payments are deferred. CalHFA's program handbook, last revised February 28, 2022, describes a simple interest, deferred payment loan whose term matches the first mortgage, up to 30 years. That handbook is several years old, so ask your lender for the current terms and interest rate.
  • Works with: CalHFA FHA, CalPLUS FHA, conventional, CalPLUS conventional, USDA and VA first mortgages. You must use a CalHFA-approved lender.
  • Who qualifies: First-time buyer as CalHFA defines it, buying a primary residence with no non-occupant co-borrowers, within CalHFA's county income limits. Credit score follows the rules of the first mortgage program.
  • Availability: CalHFA's pages do not show an open or closed status for MyHome, and its bulletin list shows no 2026 pause announcement.

CalPLUS with ZIP and CalPLUS Access with MyAccess

Administered by CalHFA.

  • What it offers: CalPLUS pairs a CalHFA first mortgage that has a slightly higher fixed rate with the Zero Interest Program (ZIP) for closing costs. CalHFA's May 2025 government loan handbook sets ZIP at 2.00% or 3.00% of the first mortgage loan amount and MyAccess at 2.50%.
  • Repayment: Both are deferred payment junior loans. ZIP carries zero interest, and payments are deferred for the life of the first mortgage.
  • Works with: CalPLUS FHA and CalPLUS conventional first mortgages. CalPLUS Access is combined with MyAccess for closing costs or down payment assistance, and MyAccess sits in third position behind MyHome.
  • Who qualifies: Primary residence, within CalHFA income limits. The handbooks set minimum credit scores of 640 for government loans (660 for manual underwriting) and 660 or 680 for conventional loans, depending on income.
  • Availability: CalHFA's pages do not show an open or closed status.

Dream For All Shared Appreciation Loan

Administered by CalHFA.

  • What it offers: Up to 20% of the purchase price for down payment or closing costs, not to exceed $150,000.
  • Repayment: A shared appreciation loan. When you sell, transfer or pay off the first mortgage, you repay the original loan plus a share of the home's appreciation.
  • Works with: The Dream For All conventional first mortgage.
  • Who qualifies: At least one borrower must be a first-generation homebuyer and a current California resident, all borrowers must be first-time buyers, and household income must meet CalHFA's Dream For All income limits. You complete the eHome course or a HUD-approved counseling course, plus a free Dream For All course of about one hour.
  • Availability: CalHFA's page states that the application period for a loan voucher is closed. The portal closed March 16, 2026, and CalHFA released the next round of voucher notifications on May 20, 2026. Vouchers are awarded by randomized drawing. The page does not state when another window will open.

What are the income and price limits in California?

Each limit below is the range the agency published, as of the date shown.

LimitRangeIn effectSource
Household income limits, CalHFA first mortgages and subordinate loans (not Dream For All)$192,000 to $325,000, set by county, with one limit per county and no household-size breakdownEffective 06.30.2026, for reservations received on or after June 30, 2026CalHFA 2026 income limits (PDF)
Household income limits, Dream For All$153,000 to $310,000, set by countyEffective 06.30.2026CalHFA Dream For All income limits (PDF)
Purchase price limitNone. CalHFA no longer has sales price limits on eligible properties. First mortgage loan amounts are capped at the FHA, USDA or VA county limits.Since June 1, 2020 (Program Bulletin 2020-07)CalHFA limits page

How do I apply for down payment assistance in California?

  1. Find a CalHFA-approved loan officer in the agency's lender directory. CalHFA says its mortgage products are offered through private loan officers.
  2. Have pay stubs, bank statements, employment history and prior tax returns ready, as CalHFA lists.
  3. Complete homebuyer education and get a certificate of completion before closing. CalHFA's eHome 8-hour online course costs $100, and a NeighborWorks America or HUD-approved agency course is also accepted. Other online courses such as Frameworks and HomeView are not accepted.
  4. For Dream For All, register through CalHFA's voucher portal when a window is open, and check CalHFA's Dream For All page for the current status before you plan around it.

Can I combine California assistance with gift funds or employer help?

Gift funds

CalHFA's Lender Manual, last revised August 2026, says gift funds for the down payment are permissible and are subject to the Master Servicer and GSE underwriting guidelines. Confirm with your loan officer how your gift is documented.

Employer help

The CalHFA pages we read for these programs do not address employer assistance. CalHFA announced a separate employer-based shared appreciation program for University of California, Santa Cruz employees in a June 15, 2026 lender bulletin. Its current status is not confirmed.

Other assistance

CalHFA's handbooks say CalPLUS may be layered with non-CalHFA down payment or closing cost assistance and with a Mortgage Credit Certificate, and the 2022 MyHome handbook says MyHome allows layering other down payment loans or grants. A January 2024 Dream For All handbook says Dream For All allows layering non-CalHFA assistance but cannot be combined with MyHome. That handbook is older, so confirm the rule with your loan officer.

Gift rules also depend on your loan type. See what cash to close includes for how down payment and closing costs add up, and the down payment assistance guide for how gifts, employer help and assistance can fit together.

Which sources does this page rely on?

Every figure above comes from the agency pages below.

SourceDate
CalHFA MyHome Assistance ProgramNo page date shown, read October 15, 2026
CalHFA MyHome handbook (PDF)Last revised February 28, 2022, read October 15, 2026
CalHFA government loan handbook (PDF)Last revised May 2025, read October 15, 2026
CalHFA Dream For AllPage update dated 05/20/2026, read October 15, 2026
CalHFA borrower requirements and homebuyer educationNo page date shown, read October 15, 2026
CalHFA Lender Manual (PDF)Last revised August 2026, read October 15, 2026
CalHFA 2026 income limits (PDF)Effective 06.30.2026, read October 15, 2026

Frequently asked questions

How much down payment assistance can I get in California?
CalHFA's MyHome is up to the lesser of 3.5% of the price or appraised value on an FHA first mortgage, or 3% on a conventional first mortgage. Dream For All offers up to 20% for down payment or closing costs, not to exceed $150,000, when its voucher window is open.
Is Dream For All open right now?
CalHFA's page states the application period for a Dream For All loan voucher is closed. The portal closed March 16, 2026, and the next round of vouchers was released May 20, 2026. The page does not state a new application window.
Do I have to take a homebuyer class in California?
Yes. CalHFA borrowers must complete homebuyer education and obtain a certificate of completion. The eHome 8-hour online course costs $100, and courses through NeighborWorks America or a HUD-approved agency are also accepted.
What credit score does CalHFA require?
CalHFA's handbooks set a minimum of 640 for government loans (660 for manual underwriting) and 660 or 680 for conventional loans depending on income. Your loan officer applies the handbook that matches your loan.
Can I use gift funds with California down payment assistance?
CalHFA's Lender Manual says gift funds for the down payment are permissible, subject to the Master Servicer and GSE underwriting guidelines. Ask your loan officer how it applies to your loan.

See which down payment programs you may qualify for

The free Dream Score maps down payment assistance programs you may qualify for.

Get your Dream Score

Disclosure: This content is for informational purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, mortgage, or tax advice. Program rules vary by lender, location and loan. Dreamfund is not affiliated with any housing agency named here. Consult a licensed mortgage professional for guidance specific to your situation. Dream Fund AI LLC does not guarantee any savings outcome, loan approval, or home purchase result.